PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 28, 2018
Sarasota, FL
I purchased this Orange Osage pipe about 3 months ago. I've never owned one made of this wood and was wondering if what I'm seeing is normal. The pipe smoked extraordinarily hot for awhile. It's better now but still easily gets quite warm on the front and back. Rather than me try to describe the problem, look at the photos and tell me if what I'm seeing with the "weeping" along grain lines and in individual spots is normal for this wood. The bleached spot on the bottom was there when I purchased the pipe.
I haven't been back to the place where I purchased it so in fairness to the carver,this hasn't been brought up with them. I'll probably be there in a few weeks and was hoping for some third party feedback. I have my opinion but I have no experience to support it.
img_0409-150x112.jpg

img_0410-150x112.jpg

img_0412-150x112.jpg

img_0413-600x450.jpg

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
One of Skip's hedge apple pipes, lovely things. If you are referring to the spirals, that's just the ring grain of the wood.
img_0413.jpg

winton

Lifer
Oct 20, 2010
I love working with Osage Orange. The wood is beautiful and incredibly hard. It is often used for fence posts. The posts will last longer than the barbed wire. I have never heard of anyone digging up the rootball of this tree to see how it compares to briar. I would like to have a pipe made of this wood. I have plenty of it in my garage, but I don't make pipes.

btp79

Can't Leave
Jan 27, 2018
Sugar Land, TX
We used it for camp fires or in wood burning stoves. It burns really hot, but throws off a ton of sparks. Burdock, Hedge Apple, Osage Orange, we used all three names for it growing up in Kansas. Looks nice, but I'd probably stick to my briars and cobs. Too many memories of snap, crackle, and pop with that particular wood lol.

May 8, 2017
Sugar Grove, IL, USA
Cool-looking pipe.