PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cinosam

Lurker
Jan 8, 2014
Hail fellows, I have been trying new tobaccos lately and ordered a small bag of Gawith and Hoggarth's Louisiana Perique Flake. It arrived in the bag, in the form of several sheets, which I gather is the usual way. It was quite moist, and smelled reminiscent of beef jerky, leather, and pine-tar soap, which I found appealing. I decided it was far too wet in the bag to be smoked like that, so I took some of the strips of tobacco, dried them on a piece of white paper underneath an incandescent desk lamp for about 15 minutes until they were drier, then crumbled them up and put them in a glass jar. Two days later I removed them from the jar and dried the loose, crumbled up tobacco pieces again under the lamp for around the same amount of time, then back into the (airtight) jar for the night.
I smoked it yesterday and found the taste to be odd. I AM NEW TO PERIQUE TOBACCO AND DON'T KNOW HOW it is *SUPPOSED* to taste like, so bear this in mind. When I smoked it, I did not detect any of the peppery, leathery, beef jerky-like taste I smelled in the bag. Rather the taste was...hard to describe, but the best I could do is to say it was "sweet and salty", almost like I remember Play-Doh tasting when I was a young child and would chew on it. It had a faint cigar-like taste to it as well. It wasn't necessarily BAD, but just unlike any pipe tobacco I've ever smoked. Is this how it is supposed to taste? Did I dry it too much?

brudnic1

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 13, 2012
Try some Escudo or Saint James flake. These are both well regarded blends. If what you tried is significantly different then it is possible some additive was present. Lakeland blends are known for their perfume or flower like odors.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Gawith & Hoggarth's Louisiana Perique Flake has a slight Lakeland scent. I don't know if that is intentional since it is