No More Caffeine For Me.......... NOOOOOO!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

slownumbers39

Can't Leave
Jul 29, 2012
I have to do a urine collection for a 24 hour period for medical reasons and as a result, I have to stop drinking coffee and cannot consume anything with caffeine for 3 days prior to taking this test, so that is a total of 4 days without caffeine.
Canada has Thanksgiving next weekend and I have been a daily coffee drinker for close to 40 years and I know quitting caffeine will be very difficult for me to do. I am dreading the headaches and irritability as well as other symptoms that will soon ensue.
Wondering if anyone has some tips on how to deal with caffine withdrawl and should I stay caffeine free once I get that far? Any advice, etc. is appreciated.

dervis

Lifer
Jan 30, 2012
Hazel Green AL
I have no experience with this. I drink about 3-4 pots a day so I just cringe at the idea. Guessing lots of water. Maybe Decafe coffee might give some trickery to the brain? That and just eat straight for 4 days are my only suggestions. Now afterwards, I would start drinking it again, maybe just cut back.

Jan 8, 2013
There is caffeine in caffeine free coffee (as ridiculous as that sounds), just a very small amount. It would probably be best to stay away from that as well.

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
Holy heck, that's a mountain of a transition slownumbers. I'm sorry that you have to cut out the caffeine, if even only temporarily. I'm not a medical professional, but I do make my living as a purveyor of fine coffees and teas. I have seen many people go through the transition you are describing, some with no adverse physiological affects, others with the headaches and irritability you describe.
There are a couple tips that I suggest to folks when they have to make an immediate break with caffeine:
1) Drink lots of water. Keep yourself hydrated, and full.