PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

apatim

Can't Leave
Feb 17, 2014
Jacksonville, FL
Newbie here... am nearly 60 years old and having been raised in the PC world of non-smokers, I never had any inclination to smoke really. As a youngster I tried a cigarette or two but didn't like them at all. Over the years I've smoked cigars on social occasions but not too crazy about them either. Some better than others but don't really care for the smell.
When I was a kid, my dad smoked a pipe and as a college student, my mentor smoked a pipe. I loved the smell of the pipe smoke. Last fall I started feeling a bit nostalgic and decided to buy a corncob and give it a try. Had a lot of trouble keeping it lit the first time and got tongue bite so didn't try again until a couple of weeks ago. Second smoke went better (after watching a few videos and reading a bit) but nothing spectacular.
Then last week I pulled out the pipe once again... wow, it was great but my bride doesn't really want me to smoke inside and I don't like sitting on the patio just to smoke... prefer doing other things inside but I want her happy more than I want to smoke indoors. Because of that, I've only smoked a couple of bowls over the last week but find myself almost craving it. I'm amazed at how much pleasure I get from the taste, the aroma and even the very act of filling the bowl, lighting the tobacco and enjoying the smoke.
I think I'm hooked! (...guess you can teach old dogs new tricks)

ravkesef

Lifer
Aug 10, 2010
Cheshire, CT
Welcome to the forum. Here you'll find sure experiences, lots of good information, and many friends who share your love of pipe smoking. As you grow in experience, you'll have lots of questions, so feel free to ask away, someone will be there with just the right answer.

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
apatim:
Welcome to the Forum!