PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

withoutink

Lurker
Sep 11, 2014
Total newbie here. Never really smoked cigars or cigarettes... Played with a hookah for awhile. But that is about it ... As I am not 100% sure this is right for me, I wanted to start small. I read a number of posts that recommended to get a Meerschaum cob pipe. I watched some videos on Youtube as well, that reiterated that suggestion. So, I am game, plus i live in the middle of Appalachia, so it seems fitting anyway. I wanted to get the MM Country Gentlemen (hopefully with a wood plug).
As far as tobacco, I was thinking of getting Lane 1Q as I read a few reviews, that state this is a mild sweet, forgiving tobacco that is fitting for a newbie.
I was wondering what other tobaccos I might be able to try, that are sweet, smooth, forgiving and maybe a tiny bit complex to start with?
What are other accessories / ancillary items I need to purchase (to start)?
Lastly, since I live in the middle of nowhere... I will need to order my stuff online. Where is a reliable place that I can grab everything I need in one swoop.
Thanks so much in advance.

mcitinner1

Lifer
Apr 5, 2014
Missouri
Go to any of the sites that advertise on Pipes Magazine. My favorite is Pipes & Cigars, but their shipping time kind of sucks. Smoking Pipes has the best shipping time.
tinner

jah76

Lifer
Jun 27, 2012
Welcome! I might recommend grabbing two cobs,a bic lighter, and a pipe nail to get yourself started. (Sometimes things like 1Q can ghost or "scent" a pipe so the next time you smoke it you get that 1Q flavor again.) I usually headed to Smoking Pipes when I'm ready to order something (see link on the side).
By all means try out 1Q and see if you like it, but don't be intimidated by other types of tobaccos, such as Englishes and Virginias.
There are some fantastic bulks that you can grab an oz of to try.