PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrhowrd

Lurker
Nov 21, 2013
Greetings,

I just finished my first bowl ever. I picked up a Paronelli with a slight bend at the recommendation of a good customer who is also a pipe smoker. Two things are on my mind about this new experience; first I packed a bowl that when tamped was only about half of the way up the bowl and I had a heck of a time keeping it lit, is it possible I didn't pack my pipe with enough tobacco? Or could this just be part of the learning curve?
Second, towards the end I heard a sucking sound (not like the gurgle of accumulated moisture) and it became even harder to keep the tobacco lit. Again, is this normal as the tobacco is consumed, or is it part of the learning curve?
I am not new to smoking tobacco, I actually work for a cigar manufacturer, but I am very new to smoking a pipe. My overall experience was very enjoyable, I kind of wished I bought two pipes so I could try another bowl tomorrow, but the intense sucking and multiple relights (especially towards the end) caused me to experience tongue bite and I'd like to minimize, if not eliminate, that sensation as quickly as possible.
Cheers,
H

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
mrhowrd, welcome to Forums. For your pipe packing and smoking questions, start by reading the featured

articles listed in the left margin of the home page, especially Packing Methods Parts 1 and 2, and Pipe Smoking

Tips. Also, read the guidelines on doing posts; the headlines have initial caps, just to keep the format

consistent. There are other techniques to learn, using a tamper and maybe slowing down your cadence on

smoking so you get an even burn. Forums members often suggest that beginners buy one or two Missouri

Meerschaum corn cob pipes, which are really inexpensive, to give them a rotation so you can let your briar pipe