PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gunner1

Lurker
Apr 28, 2014
Hi guys, I am a 64 year old newbie and trying to get into smoking pipes and getting off the devil cigs. I am recently retired and as expected, on a budget. Ask my wifey. Can someone suggest a decent brand of pipe that doesn't cost an arm and a leg? Yep, I know I sound like a cheap old sucker, but it is out of necessity. Still got to buy the accessories also. I just found this forum and it looks like a good place to get information and shoot the bull. Hope I don't bug you guys to much with dumb questions.

carcosa

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 21, 2013
For abriar you can get a Dr. Grabow off of Amazon cheap. They are good briar pipes, and some of the other members know a couple other brands. Dont get any other wood than briar. You're looking at $20 or so. Pick up a couple of $10 corn cobs like rsuniv mentioned so you can rotate them so your pipe doesnt turn sour. Pipe tobacco is cheap so its worth picking up a couple nice pipes down the road.

carcosa

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 21, 2013
you might also want to check out smoking pipes and Pipes and Cigars online to browse. Send them an email they are helpful.

plateauguy

Lifer
Mar 19, 2013
Welcome, never too old to start a good thing!
I also suggest getting a couple of MM Cobs - they are inexpensive (under $15 each), with a variety of shapes, and are probably the most forgiving beginner pipe you can find. Everyone should have at least one. Eventually you will want to add a Forever stem - it steps everything up several notches and is "forever".
Try bulk blends - you can try 1 oz sizes very inexpensively to find your tastes.

Are you an aro smoker (like me)? If so, I would recommend the following:

Lane 1Q

7 Seas Royal

Lord Methley (4noggins)

Trout Stream (4noggins)

Sutliff Molte Dolce

4noggins also has $20 samplers - call Rich and talk with him about suggestions.
Good Luck!

leacha

Part of the Furniture Now