PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

geirove

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 10, 2014
Ive decided to take up pipe smoking. I have allways loved the smell of the pipe tobacco. And remember my trips to the local tobacco store with my old aunt, I got a sausauge while she drank coffee and talked to her friends :)
I have kind of decided to order a Falcon pipe as my first pipe, its in my price range and I can change bowl quite easy.....and Ive heard positive things about this pipe. Do you have any other suggestions? (and i think it looks really cool)
Is there any tobacco I really should try out? I am an experienced cigar and cigarette smoker, I like my tobacco spicy and full but also mild in the morning and late afternoon.
I guess when ordering online, the different vendors have different brands? Im new to online ordering, we used to have very nice old tobacco specialst store down here in Norway. Now, cause of tax and laws they are all gone. I cant get pipe tobacco even in this city i live in.
Any suggestions are very welcome, I need starter tips

mrenglish

Lifer
Dec 25, 2010
Columbus, Ohio
A Falcon will suit you well for a first pipe. Invest in a couple bowls to go with it and you are set. You can learn the ropes (packing, lighting, smoking, etc) and then move up if you decide to stick with it.
As for tobaccos, I would go with something heavier for the spicy and full, something like Sam Gawith St. James Flake. While not spicy, Peterson University Flake is a very good blend. Perique is what will give you that spicy taste/feeling. A good mild tobacco for morning would be Dunhill Flake, Mac Baren Navy Flake or Orlik Golden Slices.
Most online vendors have a proprietary line but most all sell the same tobaccos from the big houses. If you are Norway, I would recommend 4noggins.com, I hear they are really good with international shipping.