PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

aaronbear

Lurker
Feb 7, 2012
I have just ordered myself a selection of different tobaccos to try, can i use the same pipe to smoke them all or will ghosting occur , is there certain tobaccos that tend to ghost a pipe more than others, do use a different pipe for each tobacco? What do you do?

galeon

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 12, 2012
I'm by no means an expert, but I don't seem to notice any ghosting and I smoke all my baccies out of all of my pipes. I just tend to give them a rest and a good cleaning between smokes. I've heard of people using certain pipes for certain blends, but from what I've seen, it's because they're found the 'perfect' pipe for a certain blend.
I'm sure you'll get some better answer than this, but it's just my $0.02.
-Stephen

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
You will get ghosting when you mix different categories. I have my pipes set up for virginia flakes, vapers,lakelands and aromatics. I don't smoke English blends so I don't have to worry about those. Just the other day I mistakenly put some virginia flake into one of my lakeland pipes and man all I could taste was the lakeland essence, it did not bode well for the flake I tried smoking.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
IMHO; ghosting occurs when you smoke some latakia blends, and some Aromatics as well.

But, that isn't a hard a fast rule.

As for dedicating pipes to particular tobaccos... Whatever floats your boat.

I have only a couple of pipes that are particularly suited to particular blends.

However: I must let you know....

Unless you like a ghosted pipe never smoke Stanwell Melange.

It'll ghost your pipe on the first puff. :crazy:

IMHO...

:puffy:

bentmike

Lifer
Jan 25, 2012
@cigrmaster: "I don't smoke English blends so I don't have to worry about those." Amen brother! Once you put that devil weed in your pipe it's over for that briar!