PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

dntrose

Lurker
Mar 10, 2019
I'm new to English blends so I bought some Sutliff match 965 and am enjoying it in the mornings.

Are there any other brands anyone would recommend? I'm getting away from aromatics so I'd like a little variety.

blues4goose

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 15, 2019
Bethlehem, PA
Try out some Balkans too, Bengal Slices and SPC Plum Pudding are excellent. Nightcap Match is a good smoke, but I've never had genuine nightcap so I can't say how good of an alternative it is. MO American Patriot is a good cheaper knockaround English, and if you're feelin' 'froggy' grab some McClellands on eBay (Pun intended)

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
If you're looking for a mild and extra refined blend, I'd suggest Nat Sherman 536. Other good ones among the many include C&D Tuggle Hall and Sutliff Lord Nelson. I just took delivery of a century-old English blend, Presbyterian, which is a fairly popular light-on-the-Lat English blend. But there are many, including some full strength blends, and you'll enjoy trying them over time, but take your time. I think it helps to rotate genres so you don't get tired of any particular one. A great deal in a genuine tub English blend is PC Home and Hearth Midtown Series, the only English blend in the series, Chestnut, which is a match to the discontinued Walnut, and which can be sampled in a baggie sized portion before you commit to a tub. Have fun!

hawky454

Lifer
Feb 11, 2016
Austin, TX
I still prefer the way the English make English blends but there are some good American and Danish English blends around.
My favorite English English/Balkan blends:
Samual Gawith Skiff Mixture

(Germain’s) Smokers Haven Exotique

Esoterica’s Margate
Danish:
Arango Balkan Supreme
American:
Seattle Pipe Club Plum Pudding

Bengal Slices

GL Pease Maltese Falcon
Just to name a few.

elessar

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 24, 2019