PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

misterzombie

Lurker
Dec 30, 2012
Hello everyone. As the title states, I'm new to pipes. My first pipe I ever bought was a F.E.S.S Churchwarden 14" from Amazon but it was more for display and never have been used. I'm not even sure if it would be a good smoke. So instead I bought from P&C a few things to get me started and I wanted to know your opinions on them for a beginner. I have never really smoked anything except when I was an experimental 15 year old some menthols. Here is what I ordered:
Pipe: Wellington Smooth Billiard (M)

Tobacco: Hearth & Home Sampler

*House of Lords

*Old Companion

*Grandma's Kitchen

*American Heritage

*Berry Nice

*Vermont Meat Candy
Is this an okay variety to get started? They are each 2oz samples. How long would 2oz last in general (approximately how many bowls)?
Thanks everyone and hello again. I'll do some more research on here since I was also curious about how aromatics can leave a gummy residue and how to clean that.

hawk60ce

Lifer
Jun 11, 2012
2oz would get you 16-20 bowls. Seems like a good start. Don't be afraid of English blends and Virginia blends. Make sure to dry out your tobacco and keep reading and asking questions

ghost

Lifer
May 17, 2012
This forum is an encyclopedia of pipe info, you'll find all your answers here. :puffy:
Looks like you're off to a great start, did you order any pipe cleaners or a tamper with the order? Always make sure you have cleaners on hand...Welcome aboard!

gnatjulio

Lifer
Mar 22, 2012
New York
I agree with hawk and ghost and would recommend checking out youtube for packing technique. Both helped me out too well.

zanthal

Lifer
Dec 3, 2011
Pleasanton, CA
Your FESS churchwarden is made of rosewood (if it's like the one I bought last year) and will get burn out very easily.
Briar is the way to go, pearwood root and meerschaum are good too. Welcome to the forum :puffy:

bigboi

Lifer
Nov 12, 2012