PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rosney

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 12, 2012
I am fairly new to pipe smoking but I figured it was time to invest in a nice pipe so today I was off to visit the b&m in a town an hour away. They have a ton of pipes so I figured I would be able to find what I was looking for. I was looking for a Rhodesian or squat bulldog of some sort. When it came down to it I had narrowed it down to two pipes. One was a new Peterson on sale for $90 and the other an estate Georg Jensen for $70. When I went in I was set on a Peterson, a stanwell or a Savenelli. The Georg Jensen felt better in my hand and I liked the looks a little better. That combined with the fact that I was going to have enough left over get a couple of tins made me decide to go with the Jensen. It is what I would call a Rhodesian (but I am new) and is in great shape. The only other markings are De Lux on the underside. So here is my question. Should I have gone with the Peterson and did I overpay for the Jensen? On the way home I thought I had made a mistake since I went in not having done my research on that brand. I know if it feels good and smokes good that is all that matters but I would like some of your opinions. Also does anyone know about Georg Jensen pipes? My research so far has come up with very little. I will post pictures tonight when I get home. Thanks in advance

ejames

Lifer
Oct 6, 2009
Neither Pipedia or Pipephil has any info on Georg Jensen that I could find.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
When I first started smoking a pipe, my second pipe was a Jensen that retailed for around 70 or so, I did not care for it. It burned very hot and wet and I got rid of it pretty quickly. I hope you are luckier than I was.

hfearly

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 11, 2012
Canada