PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

thebadkitty

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 29, 2012
Albany, Oregon
I'm not very good at reviews, but I like War Horse. I've never had the original, so this isn't about that, or a comparison. I don't want to stir any pots, just giving my impression of something I tried for the first time and liked.
I'm not sure if I like it, so maybe I shouldn't say that but rather that I liked my first few bowls today and can see myself settling into it as it becomes familiar. I'm not good at packing ribbon or shredded cuts, usually cube cutting flakes, but this stuff seems forgiving. Usually I can feel myself clump it as I work it in gently, kind of swirling it in as I gently push. I don't know some might call it an upside down version of that video with David McGrane doing a pack in his palm. Anyway, digression. War Horse was easier for me to load a bowl than a usual ribbon, shag, or whatever.
Right off the bat after lighting it it tasted sweet. That sweetness of Virginia that I love, and a little bit of flavoring too maybe. It didn't really remind me of anything except maybe a nice Virginia with a sweet honey type topping. Nice.
Mmmm spiciness of Perique came right up on the first couple puffs and gave my a nose burn that was so nice, there but not intense and it also has a tiny bit of sweetness to it. I love Virginia, but ever since she introduced me to her spicier southern cousin Perique, it's almost always threesomes now. It's almost all I seem to want anymore, and even when I'm having just Virginia, I still think it would be nicer with Perique too. Don't tell Virginia I said that.