PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

frennchy11

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 28, 2011
Has anyone ever heard of Strambach meerschaum pipes? I have my eye on one but im not sure if its a good maker

jrtaster

Might Stick Around
Sep 28, 2009
$70 for a NEW strambach?? wow!! didn't check the dimensions of the pipe offered but from the pic it "looks" a bit on the smaller size. strambach enjoys an excellent reputation. i own a strambach gourd calabash and it smokes just fine. i also bought mine from that ebay seller (radicapipes.net) and thought the item, price, and service were first class. seems to be a nice pipe for the $$! jrtaster/john

fred

Lifer
Mar 21, 2010
Strambach Meerschaum Pipes are carved from Masse or Formed Block. I have no experience with their Pipes other than the Gourd Calabash I own - which is a great Pipe. Artisans outside of Turkey had to get creative with the use of materials after the Turkish government passed laws back in 1961 making it a crime to export Sepiolite. Masse Block is made from the chips and dust left after Block Meerschaum is carved. It is relatively light and it is durable.

arinbjorn

Might Stick Around
Sep 14, 2011
Ah, so you're the fella who scooped up that green Strambach, eh? I hope it is a good pipe for you! I was eyeballing it.
I also found an opportunity for a new Strambach. I was reading on Pipedia about the masse, or formed, meerschaum. Is this the same stuff as the cheaper pressed meerschaum? Their reputation seems excellent, so I have a hard time believing that it is pressed... maybe I'm not understanding the difference between masse/formed meerschaum and pressed meerschaum?
What's more confusing is that the Pipedia does mention the current female pipe maker for Strambach, and says she is a master turner of solid block meerschaum. So now I'm really scratching my head!
If some folks can vouch to it being good, I may trip the trigger yet. I just feel a little confused, myself.

brian64