PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

aaronbear

Lurker
Feb 7, 2012
Forgive me if I am repeating this question as I am a newbie to pipe mag, which is best to fire up your pipe? Match or lighter? For's and against..... Or is it personal preference?

winton

Lifer
Oct 20, 2010
Blow torch. Or try rubbing two pipes together for a very long time.
Seriously, I use a Zippo ligher with a pipe insert.
Winton

smokenscotch

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 23, 2011
I do like to use wooden matches however I got sick of having matches all over (waiting for them to cool), so I purchased an Old Boy Corona lighter and haven't looked back. Great reliable lighter with a great look. I now use that 90% of the time.

lordnoble

Lifer
Jul 13, 2010
Matches until I can draw the flame into the bowl enough then I use a Colibri butane pipe lighter.
-Jason

baronsamedi

Lifer
May 4, 2011
Dallas
On the rare occasion that I smoke indoors, I like a match, but I'd say 99.9% of the time I use a regular old disposable butane lighter.

shawn

Jan 1, 2012
Lighter. Never have used matches. I smoke outside so wind is always an issue.

adam12

May 16, 2011
Wooden matches always. Too many scorching issues with lighters.

cajunguy

Jan 22, 2012
Metairie, LA
I once used lighters exclusively. But now, when I can, I use matches, largely because of the article featured in this thread: Thermodynamics of Pipe-Smoking.
I've yet to come to a conclusion on whether the article's assertions make all that much of a difference. Only time will tell. But it did turn my attention towards the little wooden sulfur sticks as a fire source, something I never would have considered otherwise.

hanymamdouh

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 29, 2012
Egypt