PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessa444

Lurker
Jun 12, 2012
Hello Everyone,
This is my first time here! I need to pick somebody's brain. I am trying to date my one pipe, I have a rough idea but can't figure out how to confirm. It is a Louis Fiolet Pipe and has the L.F. stamp. The bowl is a carved skull. Any ideas who might be able to help, or if there is a reference catalogue?
Thanks Tessa

arabpipesmoker

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 7, 2012
Come as friend and stay as family

still noob in pipes and hope our experts will answer your question soon where pics will help much faster.

happy puffing :puffy:

topd

Lifer
Mar 23, 2012
Emerson, Arkansas
Welcome to the forum Tessa....
If your Louis Fiolet is a clay pipe, you may have something there. Photo's would be of great help.

He passed away in 1892.
Have a look at this pipe http://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/broughttolife/objects/display.aspx?id=10432

lonestar

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Edgewood Texas
Hello Tessa. I have an L. Fiolet from the late 1800's.

You may find some info by digging around here http://www.dawnmist.demon.co.uk/pipdex.htm . I was able to find my Fiolet listed in her illustrations.

Best of luck, hope you'll post any info you find.

mluyckx

Lifer
Dec 5, 2011
Texas
Like this one ?

(EDIT: Duh ! It's the one TopD posted as well...)
hommedia.ashx

Does it still have the stem ? Is it a full clay or just a bowl in which then a reed or wooden stem would be inserted (Like the picture) ? Are you trying to find out its worth to sell it ? If it's your only pipe, I would be surprised if you actually smoke it ;-)