PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsiddle

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 24, 2012
Ok so I am still learning about different blends and wanted to get ya'lls opinion rather than some random website.
What are the different types of blends? So far I know: Aeromatic, Virginian (VA), and English
I know that aeromatics smell very nice, but the one I have doesnt taste at all, no flavor...

Is this a norm with aeromatics?
Which types of blends have sweeter flavors? which have heartier / baccy flavors?

Which types burner cooler? hotter?

Which types need lots of relights? which dont?

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
This is a vast topic, so I'll only answer that part of it on which I am rather opinionated.
I started out with drug store "blend" aromatics, which is to say, cased Burley (with a "plastic-like" aftertaste).

Over the years I've discovered that there are three kinds of aromatics:
- the above mentioned drug store stuff -- designed to deliver nicotine and regale the wife's nose, not your palate

- natural tobacco blends with either a topping or a non-tobacco amendment such as deertongue

- Cavendish blends -- cased, but much less artificial tasting, and aimed at the tastebuds rather than the wife's nose.

jsiddle

Sep 24, 2012
You might enjoy reading The Pipe Tobacco Aging, Storage and Cellaring FAQ.
-.- I think you killed my thread...
It looks like a very good read, and I will read it, but I still

want the opinions of everyone on here, Seeing how awesome everyone

was yesterday on answering questions, I trust these guys alot more

than anyone else.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
In very broad terms:
Aromatics

Virginias, and their subset, Virginia/Perique blends

Latakia blends, which are usually referred to - in the States anyway - as Balkan or English blends

Burley based blends
The cheap drugstore stuff is either low-end aros, or the burley based "American classics" - Prince Albert, Carter Hall, and so on.