Lady buys a Peterson's Block Meerschaum, New to this!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

missmomo

Lurker
Oct 1, 2015
Greetings and Salutations, I am a newbie pipe smoker and collector. I just bought 4 pipes and one has me a bit stumped on it's authenticity. It's a Peterson's Block Meerschaum Pipe, It has the Crown and S in white and it's stamped Great Britain on the stem,(vintage) from what I can gather, (it's a warm golden color, rustic finish). My question is this....did this pipe have a silver band at one time, did all vintage Peterson's meerschaum come from Africa? Any and all info would be helpful as I'm a sponge for knowledge on pipes and tobacco.

agnosticpipe

Lifer
Nov 3, 2013
In the sticks in Mississippi
Hi, and welcome to the site! My wife smokes pipes too and it's always nice to see another female join in the conversation.
About your pipe; without seeing the pipe it's hard to tell what it is. Is it stamped Peterson's, is the crown on the stem? Most Peterson meerschaum pipes had a silver cap on the end of the shank, and I never heard of them stamping the stem with a crown with an S. I do believe that all the meershaums made for them were African though, but I'm not an expert on Peterson's.
Check the top of the forums page under the header "Latest Discussions" for a sticky on how to post pics.

rblood

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 2, 2015
I believe the Pete meers, prior to the Sherlock Holmes series, were all African meerschaum and the system pipe ranges are said to have been carved by Manx meerschaum for some time, but who knows (I have never seen solid documentation of this, so take it for what it is). Peterson's does not have much documentation on this and have used many carvers over the years.
In any event, the meers are extremely hard to date, especially (read impossible) if there are no silver hallmarks - much harder to narrow to a date range than even their briars...