PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

boilermakerandy

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 27, 2014
I tend to keep my tinned blends in the tin after opening. I like the paper wrapper and the tin itself because I just like the way they look and function but I find the tobacco tends to dry out too much by the time I get to the last few bowls.
Suggestions?
Disclaimer: I am new to tins after having been a bulk smoker for many years.

mephistopheles

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 14, 2014
I've got aromatics in tins and I've found that the fellas are correct in saying that everything should be jarred up once you pop the lid. They seem to lose their flavor pretty quickly if they aren't jarred right away.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
I tend to keep my tinned blends in the tin after opening. I like the paper wrapper and the tin itself because I just like the way they look and function but I find the tobacco tends to dry out too much by the time I get to the last few bowls.
The only way to avoid this is to take it out of the tin, or else smoke it before it dries out.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
I like to keep my blends in their tins too. One hint I got from an esteemed member is to keep the metal lid on top of the tobacco after it is removed. This is for tine like those used by C&D, McClelland and the like. I have found that the tobacco does stay fresher longer by keeping the metal lid in the can.

Jarring is the best way to keep things fresh but if I'm on the go I like to toss the tin in my bag and not play with pouches.

Try it and see if it works for you.

darwin

Apr 9, 2014
A 5 mil aluminized ziplock quart size bag will hold one standard round tin and keep it from drying out for a long time even without heat-sealing. It does take up more room this way but can be used for casual transport duty whereas a jar is too fragile for such use.

mustanggt

Dec 6, 2012