Pipes Magazine » Pipe Tobacco Discussion

Tags:   

Keeping my tobacco fresh

(13 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

coolsmoke16

Login to Send PM

Okay so here lately I have been buying tobacco by the bulk and have been exploring ways to keep my tobacco from going dry and stale. Eventually I am going to invest in a humidor but being a college student, I can't afford one at the moment. I want to share with you my idea I have come up with to see if it was either a complete waste of time, effort and money, or will work fine. So basically I purchased a 15 ounce air tight, shatterproof plastic container from Wal-Mart. It has a pull and lock latch so it does create a very nice seal. Then I bought a regular kitchen sponge probably 3 or 4 inches. I then wet the sponge and put it in a very small Tupperware container which I then capped it with its original top only thing being that i put about 30 holes in the top so that the water could escape into the big container to wet my tobacco. Will this work?? Thanks, Bryce

Posted 3 years ago #
  2. kcvet67

kcvet67

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

A humidor is great for pipes but not much use with pipe tobacco. Unlike cigars, which need about a 70% humidity level, pipe tobacco responds best to a level of about 12%-18%. I'd take the sponge out of the setup you're using, unless your tobacco is very dry to begin with. Personally, I prefer mine on the lower end of that scale, I think you get more flavor and a cleaner burn from drier tobacco.

Mason jars do a great job of maintaining your tobacco at the proper humidity level without the need for adding moisture. You should be able to find them in a variety of sizes at most grocery stores for around $10 for a case of 12.

"The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants."
    -- Thomas Jefferson
    Posted 3 years ago #
  3. tslex

tslex

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM