PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gtclark

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 3, 2013
I've been smoking a pipe for about 12 years now, and sampled judiciously from all the major blending houses (SG, G&H, McC, C&D, PS, et al.) However, I managed to avoid Mac Baren thanks to reports of the infamous "Mac Baren bite". Despite the warnings, I decided to take the plunge last spring with a tin of "Mixture Scottish".
I'm now convinced these reports are generally a matter of personal mouth chemistry and poor smoking technique. Furthermore, I can't believe I waited so long to try their blends! Everything I've tried rings my bell, and I've found some new blends I will be stocking by the pound. Specifically, "Mixture Scottish", "Navy Flake", "VA #1", "Vanilla Cream" and "Plumcake" are all excellent blends of the highest quality and flavor. There are many blends left untried, and I'm looking forward to working my way through the Mac Baren stable (Solent, Dark Twist, etc.)
I'm not saying the "bite" isn't real, but after reading reviews by many experienced pipe smokers, I'm increasingly convinced it's a chemistry issue. Furthermore, many of the blends do require closer attention to technique, so I would not recommend many classic Mac Baren blends to new smokers. But, if you've been avoiding them based on reputation alone, give them a try - you might be surprised. If it sizzles your tongue, sell it to me! :puffy:

Reactions: Casual

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
Very nice ... more blends to add! LOL
I like Mac Baren too ... never had any trouble with the notorious bite.
Their HH ODF is almost always in rotation and the Va #1 ages really well ... enjoy! :puffy:

briarfriar

Can't Leave
Hear, hear!
I brought home an ounce of Mac Baren Scottish from a visit to Edleez in Albany, New York yesterday, and I just happened to have smoked a bowl in the past hour and enjoyed it very much. I didn't think I'd like it, but I was curious.
Jay

gtclark

Oct 3, 2013