I'm a Pipe Rookie - Looking for Pipe Guidance!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nickdp

Lurker
Jul 1, 2013
CT, USA
Hey all. I have been smoking cigars since college, but of recent, I decided to dabble in pipes as well. I still have yet to master the art of packing as I tend to have to relight often, but live and learn I guess.
I was just looking at getting a new pipe, the more different the better. It still has to be a solid pipe though. I had three in mind - one was a nice embossed dragon meerschaum pipe, one of those fancy pants Butz-Choquin pipes (although I heard they tend to smoke hot), and a pipe I saw on Etsy from Fasion Pipes but I have NO clue if they are good or not - it is cheap, though (http://www.etsy.com/listing/83842679/exclusive-dragon-pipe-tobacco-pipe?ref=col_view. Any ideas?

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
So you like dragons, huh?
Just my opinion, but I don't think either the dragon meerschaum or the etsy pipe would make for a very good "rookie pipe". The Etsy pipe seems like a nice carving, but I doubt it's much of a pipe. Quite a few people have been burned by these Ukrainian "specials".
BCs are factory made pipes and you can probably get a decent pipe for a decent price. And "smoking hot" is more of a characteristic of the SMOKER than it is the pipe.
Buy the best quality tobacco and pipe you can afford. Stay away from "prop" pipes (hobbit pipes, wizard pipes, DRAGON pipes), take your time and practice, practice, practice.

bambam

Can't Leave
Jun 22, 2011
Virginia
The one you were checking out on Etsy is a pearwood pipe and if you want that type of wood, check out Mr. Brog.

You should check out falcon pipes, they are good smokers and have changeable bowls. Everything I have heard about BC pipes is good, they've been around for quite awhile. Savanelli, Peterson, Nording and everyone's favorite Missouri Meerschaum are good pipes to look into as well. :puffy:

nickdp

Lurker