PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

unkleyoda

Lifer
Aug 22, 2016
Your mom\\\'s house
As I understand it, Lakeland style tobaccos are call that because they come from the "lake" region or "lakeland" region of England. And are made partly or wholly by H&G/Samuel Gawith co. I also understand that the 'lakeland' taste is a potion that is fruity/floral/herby, some may say, "soapy".
What are a few I should try? I'm not a huge 'flake' fan, as I'm still learning how to deal with them. So, I guess I would try flake, but would rather have a ribbon.
My favorite tobaccos are Dunhill 965, bb1938, EM, Standard Mix, I also like SG Squadron Leader and Commonwealth. I do like a med/full flavored tobacco.
Thanks,

fmgee

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 26, 2014
I recently tried a Lakeland tobacco for the first time, GH Ennerdale flake. I can see how it is a love or hate tobacco. I found myself planted firmly on the love side. I plan on getting more tins of this and trying other Lakeland blends as well. Enjoy the adventure

kanse

Jul 9, 2016
Do it in a corn-cob if you can.

Also Ennerdale and Coniston are both a fine choice for a starter

Dark flake too, as Cosmic mentioned, if you can handle the nicotine.

markus

Mar 18, 2014
Bloomfield, IN
These are all very good, the cut-plugs are more of a broken flake, so you will still probably want to rub them out. G&H only uses premium quality tobacco's, I know you're not a flake fan, but most of the really good Lakeland blends come in flake form IMO, just dry them properly and rub them out and they will smoke just like any other ready rubbed tobacco, except maybe with a little more flavor.

Good luck!
Coniston Cut Plug - Unscented
Bosun Cut Plug
Scotch Mixture
Glengarry Flake
Ennerdale Flake

toobfreak

Lifer
Dec 19, 2016
Grasmere Flake too. Strange stuff. As to flake Yoda, best you learn to love the stuff, flake is the way to go. More effort and worth it.

Jul 12, 2011