PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

chalky

Lurker
Aug 13, 2015
I am relatively new to pipe smoking, but am really starting to look forward to each bowl. The biggest lesson for me so far has been to make sure I have enough time to enjoy the experience. Smoking a pipe is altogether different than smoking a cigarette (yes, I have come over from the dark side). Learning the characteristics of a pipe, and exploring the flavours of each new tobacco is very satisfying.
However, as a novice I do get frustrated sometimes as my pipe often fails to stay lit. I suspect a major reason is the very high humidity where I live (Asia). For most of the year it will be in the range of a very sticky 75%-100%. Can anyone give me any tips on how I might store my tobacco, or what I can do to counter the effects of such high humidity ?
Many thanks.

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015
I've never had to deal with humidity that high, at least not for a sustained period of time. I would consider buying some small desiccant packs like you find in packages of beef jerky. It may help dry your tobacco to a smokeable level when drying it in open air does not work. By the way, relights are not a sin, totally common, and in fact the only way to accomplish smoking some tobaccos.

petes03

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
The Hills of Tennessee
Relights are just part of it.

Some blends smoke with fewer, but rarely do any smoke without a relight.

Some things you can do to help though are things like paying close attention to your packing and tamping methods, and making sure you get a good char light.

After a while you won't really pay much attention to how many relights you have per bowl.

tarak

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
South Dakota
That's crazy humidity. Pipes tend not to love that. You'll way to dry your tobacco quite a bit before you smoke. That's will likely help. Relights will get better over time as you learn the art of packing, lighting, tamping, etc.

jpmcwjr

Staff member