PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

dajibash

Lurker
Nov 3, 2011
I am a beginner and I have one question: how to smoke the tobacco at the bottom. I think I know how to pack correctly and it goes well from the lit to almost end. But when I empty the ash, I found there is always certain amount of the tobacco not used at the bottom? I searched the web and someone said just trash it. What do you do ? And I have another " silly " question: how much time do you smoke a regular bow? 20 min? I usually use 30 min for it. Do you think I smoke too slow? Thanks in advance for helping a newbie!!

undecagon

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 7, 2011
Chicago, IL
Send a pic of your pipe - depending on the size you're doing fine. I have a pipe that I average 65 minutes with and a pipe I average 15. Most of mine are "average" sized and last around 40 minutes.
In my experience, I've found as you get better at keeping the pipe lit on it's own (w/out relights) you will smoke more, and often all of the baccy in the bowl. If your pipe is going out a lot tho, then trying to light a little bit of tobacco underneath a big bunch of ash can be quite difficult, and sometimes it's worth waving off the fallen comrades and throw those pieces out. To help, again depending on the size of your bowl, you could do a half way loosen ash, shake and dump. Then you won't have so much blocking out when you get down to the bottom.
And to answer your question, NO I definitely don't think you smoke too slow.

aussielass

Oct 18, 2011
Well done Dajibash, that was one of my questions now in the trash, albeit mine was "how do you know for absolute sure when the bowl is done and dusted, totally smoked - surely you don't keep relighting & puffing acrid ash" because I've noticed the taste changes significantly the further near the bottom you get. I figure it's done, but when I empty, I always find unsmoked baccy and I'm not sure if it's meant to be that way or not.