PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stanlaurel

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 31, 2015
I saw these two quotes on these forums yesterday:
It took me 4 years to learn what "sipping" a pipe meant. Once I learned to hold back and take it slow, everything became more enjoyable.
Yep, it took me a couple of years before I started "tasting" the flavors of various blends...and that made smoking pipes that much more enjoyable.
OK. I have been smoking for 13 months now. I am really enjoying myself and I am happy with my progress so far thanks to reading these forums. I have smoked about one pipe a day on average since I started last year. I have had many good smokes and that is what keeps me going.
That being said, I still don't think that I am getting anywhere near the flavor that I want. I can't help but think that I am still smoking too fast. Otherwise I would expect to taste more.
When I smoke, I think that I am sipping. I don't let the pipe get too hot. Most of my smokes last well over an hour. How slow is slow? How can I slow down more? Is this not my problem? Am I packing too loose? Any advice on this topic would be welcome. I am looking to move to a new level and start experiencing some of the flavor I keep hearing about. Thanks.

jvnshr

Staff member
Sep 4, 2015
Baku, Azerbaijan
Obviously this is not slow
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBJ6rmM2TMU
When I smoke, I think that I am sipping. I don't let the pipe get too hot. Most of my smokes last well over an hour.
Same thing here. I guess you are doing fine.

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
My guess is that the palette develops over time and I think it's very possible for you to find something in your process that clicks and results in more flavor.

I've found that my taste buds seem to be more receptive if I drink water or herbal teas.

Pipes are individual performers, too, and you may have to find the right combinations there.