PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mjzerby

Lurker
Dec 10, 2014
Not only am I new to pipes, i'm new to smoking. I have yet to even take my first puff of the pipe my uncle gave to me a couple months ago.
I guess that's not ALL true. I tried it a few years back, a pipe that is, but we bought cheap pipes. The taste was nice, and the smell was great for the few seconds it stayed lit.
So, my question is about frequency of smokes. I don't want to get addicted, but I would like to enjoy the pipe on occasion. My initial idea was once every other month. Would once a month be frequent enough to get addicted?

texmexpipe

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 20, 2014
Welcom to the forums. I smoke sometimes once a day but mostly 3-4 times a week. If I don't go a few days without a bowl I don't notice any cravings or signs of addiction. Hope that helps. In the end do what feels best for you everyone is different, and addiction is different for everyone.

yaboofive

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 28, 2010
Addiction is a funny thing, everyone is different. Depending on ones activity within their Nucleus accumbens that is directly related to the their consumption of nicotine, one can have various results on weather or not they become addicted. Some people just have an "addictive personality" making them subject to addictions often and easily, others less so.

If you are in fact worried about addiction setting in with low frequency use than maybe pipe smoking is not for you. Smoking of pipes and the associated rituals are often seen as a way of relaxing and contemplation and shouldn't be a source of anxiety. Granted this is just my two cents. In any case welcome to the forums, this group of people are a lively and always full of good advice for the eager learner.

pipebaum81

Nov 23, 2014