How does one develop ones pallet for tasting different tabacos?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

hebel

Lurker
Feb 26, 2011
I've been smoking a pipe for a few months now and have tried different tobaccos but I have yet been able to taste the different flavors, what gives?

unclearthur

Lifer
Mar 9, 2010
Give it time. Soon your taste will develop so that things become amazing. One of those AHA! moments!

hebel

Lurker
Feb 26, 2011
Is there anything that I should drink while I'm smoking that will help out the flavors or just give it time?

igloo

Lifer
Jan 17, 2010
woodlands tx
Nuances are a tricky thing . Some people like me have it , and some people never do .It can be a blessing and a curse . The best thing to do is find some one who likes the same blends as you do and copy them . Sure saves a lot of money . One can gleem alot from the What are you smoking forum . It also helps when someone lists thier cellar content and you have a lot of the same blends . You could try some Carter hall that is mostly burly then try a straight Virgina . That might help .Most people like blends and there are more blends than straight mixtures . If you were to try straight Orientals or Perique I doubt you would like them .Yet they add great depth to many blends . Smokey or BBQ is often used to describe Latika . You will often hear the term ,like smoking hot air for Virgina blends , Escudo comes to mind . Lakeland reminds me and may others of soap .I would worry more about what you like and just have fun . Most B@M stores will let you sample and try to help you find a blend that works for you .

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
Hebel, you may not know what you are looking for. (metaphorically speaking)
One thing that comes with experience; is the ability to understand and detect what those differences really are.