Horn Stems, the good, the bad, the ugly facts?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

aussielass

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 18, 2011
Sorry if it's been asked before, I did do a search but couldn't find any answers to my question.
Are vintage horn stems considered good or bad?

Do they increase or decrease the value of a vintage pipe? (as in seen as less desirable)

Are they prone to breaking or other dilemmas?

Do they effect the heat of the smoke?

Wondering why manufacturers mostly changed from horn to other materials such as ebonite etc?
Cheers, Di

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
I'm far from an expert, but most pipe stems that are referred to as "horn", are actually bone, or amber.

I suppose some are made of horn, but when it comes to stems made from substances other than Ebonite, Vulcanite, acrylic, and amber I couldn't tell a horn stem from a piece of polished coprolite. :D

philip

Lifer
Oct 13, 2011
Puget Sound
I'm guessing they used horn before they had our more modern materials. If it's vintage, it'e probably worth something. Here' a way to spend some money:

http://www.christies.com/LotFinder/lot_details.aspx?intObjectID=5376488

aussielass

Oct 18, 2011
Cheers Lawrence, the ones I'm looking at are clearly made from a horn in my farm girl experience, as opposed to bone. The real horn has a slightly transluscent look to it with darker veining running through it and different colour toning t/out, whereas the bone is more of a solid yellow'ish' cream with little to no variation.

lonestar

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Edgewood Texas
I'm pretty sure you're talking about that unsmoked French pipe, and I'm betting you bought it from Germany ... That guy must have found a warehouse full of old unsmoked pipes :D

Most people dont have an opinion of horn stems, because they mostly stopped using them 100 years ago.