Tags:  No tags yet. 

Help Me Chose a Vintage Please

(8 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by seamusjft
  • Latest reply from seamusjft
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

seamusjft

Login to Send PM

Good morning pipe buddies. As most of you know, it's international pipe day on the 20th. To celebrate, I'm traveling 200 miles by train to join the Nottingham pipe club for the evening. Now I plan on taking something a little special with me for the occasions sake and because I don't know anyone and it will a good ice breaker. I'm gonna buy a vintage tobacco but I have no experience with them.
    My choices in order of what I'm drawn to most are - joint 1st Dunhill My mixture circa 1990 or 1980 & Dunhill nightcap 1999. Dunhill standard mix medium 99 or 90s. Dunhill 3 year matured Virginia 60s/70s.
    Now I've tried all these under their current blenders except matured Virginia obviously and like all. They're all sealed. Does that mean they won't have aged? Or is that a good thing?
    I know you guys can't recommend for my personal taste but what I'm asking I guess is are they're elements for example in nightcap that make it better age than my mixture? If that makes sense? Does older mean better or are the 99 blends gonna be just as good?

Any input guys will as always, be greatfuly revived.

Sean

Edit: Corrected capitalization in title, L.

Posted 1 year ago #
  2. dragonslayer

dragonslayer

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I’d love to hear what people have to say about an aged Perique…

“The Constitution is not an instrument for the government to restrain the people, it is an instrument for the people to restrain the government - lest it come to dominate our lives and interests.” Patrick Henry
    Posted 1 year ago #
  3. uberam3rica

Uberam3rica

Mod

Login to Send PM

Older doesn't always mean better but often aged blend are better then non aged. Being in the tin, they will have aged