PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

baronsamedi

Lifer
May 4, 2011
Dallas
Halfling’s Leaf: A new blend from the PM Forum’s own pipeinhand
Basic description from the blender: Tin note slightly cocoa with a berry over honey. Room note, berry, cocoa and lots of honey. It is called Hobbit’s Leaf for the blender’s affinity with Tolkien and not intended to match any existing attempts on the writer’s description of pipeweed. I have had the dubious luxury of never having tried those blends so I don’t have to worry about adulterating my review with any preconceptions. Pipeinhand also compared it to Mead, which immediately perked my ears as I have been brewing my own batches of the medieval mainstay for over 10 years.
Physical description: A blend of ribbon cut tobaccos, dominated by a nut-brown color, but also containing dark chocolate brown and little flecks of gold. The nut-brown is achieved by a pretty even mix of caramel and milk-chocolate browns. It’s moist but not soggy-wet and I chose to smoke it right out of the pouch on the first day. I believe that after a month properly cellared, it would be perfect! I’m used to wet American aros with a little gurgle in my pipe so dampness is par for the course with me.
Pouch note. The honey and the berry together give the impression of a spiced rum or berry brandy, with overtones of dark chocolate. I had to admit it smells pretty darn good in the bag. I felt like a Hobbit who missed second breakfast and wanted to dig right in.
For my pipe I chose my trusty Meer. Its clean and unbiased taste is perfect for new blends. I smoked it in my garden in the Shire (Texas). It’s 62°F, sunny and a little humid.
To be honest, I wasn’t sure what kind of concoction a new blender would send me, particularly one who does aromatics and is fascinated with Hobbits. I was a little afraid of getting something that burned like the fires of Mount Doom and bit like a pissed-off Gollum.
I had nothing to worry about.