Had Some Boswells Northwood English And....

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

zonomo

Lifer
Nov 24, 2012
Absolutely positively undoubtedly hated every single solitary second of it. I have been smoking for 8 months now and I'm told that when my palate matures, I will start to like and appreciate the English blends. As some of you know here, I LOVE everything Boswells so I thought I'd give it a try. I hate the taste and really hate the smell. Let's face it... I'm an aero guy. Now where's that 1Q that I had laying around.....

flyguy

Lifer
Nov 20, 2012
Yep, I remember the first time I tried and English blend. I thought a monkey had left a anal deposit in my mouth. I was in my twenties then. Now I love the stuff! Stick with your aros for now and put the Northwoods away. One of these days...

crazypipe

Lifer
Sep 23, 2012
I have a friend who is 82 and all he has ever smoked is aero's

I have been a pipe smoker for more than 50 years and 90% of the time all I smoke is lanes BCA. :puffy:

rigmedic1

Lifer
May 29, 2011
I would be in favor of saving that Northwood for about 6 mos to a year and trying it again. Myself, I like to lighten a heavy or untasty Balkan my mixing in some McClelland 5100, or a good aro that I might have laying around. I mixed some Molto Dulce with some Hells Kitchen, it really wasn't bad at all. My latest venture has been Mixing the 5100 50/50 with some Tinderbox Sherlock's Choice, which softens the spiciness of the latter and sweetens the smoke.

zonomo

Lifer
Nov 24, 2012
90% of the time all I smoke is lanes BCA.
One of my favs. :) This is exactly what happened when I tried some Mature Virginia. I smoked 3 bowls and couldn't believe how much I hated it. So I sealed it up in a jar and will try it again. I have 4 English blends + the HH MV that I am going to try again in about 6 months. If I don't like them then, I may have to find someone to trade with.