PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

blackrobe

Lurker
Jun 11, 2018
New guy here. Been a pipe smoker off and on for quite a few years, consistently for the last five or so. Started in college (1970) with drugstore pipes and Borkum Riff. In time I discovered other varieties including Balkan Sobranie which was my staple until it disappeared. I'm still a Balkan/English enthusiast currently working my way through a half-pound of C&D Byzantium. I acquired most of my pipes as targets of opportunity over the years without knowing much about names and reputations. My username comes from my historical reenactment persona, a 17th century Jesuit missionary. I am also a teacher of high school Theology. Looking forward to improving my tobacco and pipe education.

bnichols23

Lifer
Mar 13, 2018
SC Piedmont
Howdy & welcome from upstate SC, o robed badgery one! Glad to have you here. You'll find a lot of fans of Englishes here (including a few who prefer straight latakia; we don't usually allow them out in polite society without a keeper). Most of the folks here are well-medicated enough that they let us out on weekends.
OK, seriously, welcome, & dive right in. Asking folks here for help or advice is like asking people if they have pictures of their grandkids. It's our favorite subject! A lot of the [ahem] "guidance" will conflict, since a lot of the hobby is highly subjective & we all have our own preferences that work for us. Ages range from 18-20ish to codgers like us.
Uh, one other word of warning -- there be pirates here, so keep a weather eye out. }:)
Bill

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013