PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

csquared

Lurker
Aug 4, 2012
I stopped smoking my pipes a few months ago. I had two dental surgeries and well smoking a pipe and tooth extraction just doesn't work. The weather is getting better so I decided to fire up some RPL-6 this afternoon. I'm still a novice, had some relights but it was pleasureable. Just me, the blue sky, nice breeze and pipe smoke. A great time to collect the thoughts and realize that I have missed this hobby. It seems like my pipe goes out 3-4 times (could it be my packing?) I pack it in 3 layers. When I lightly tamp the ash it always goes out.....

joshb83

Can't Leave
Feb 25, 2015
+1 to Orley's comment. It takes time and sometimes they just don't want to stay lit, but with time you usually win...usually. Welcome to the forums!!

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013
Like the fellow who wrote that book, I'm always looking for the perfect smoke. Packing the pipe the way that suits you best, using the tamper, clearing the airways, usually works. Yet sometimes a pipe just won't stay lit! That's when I take the whole darned thing apart and throughly clean it before trying again.

Welcome to the forums!

That avatar is cracking me up, csquared. That is great!! And, yes, +1 Orley. Even after years, I get that one bowl that just frustrates me to no end. And, I find that my worst smokes come when people want to discuss something with me. I am a long winded guy - no really, I can be, ha ha, and when I have to put my pipe down to give a lengthy response, I feel like a yoyo with my lighter.

Maybe try just tamping the ash down lightly. Sometimes I get in one of those moods and over tamp, but for the most part I try to tamp just when the flavor starts to become muted. And, sometimes I will go a whole bowl without tamping at all. Just depends on which way the wind blows I guess.

Ha ha, keep it smokey :puffy:

derfargin

Lifer
Mar 3, 2014
Kennesaw, GA