PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 15, 2011
I have to admit that I am a sort of Greg Pease cheerleader. While a couple of his blends have missed the mark for me, the majority of the ones I have tried have been a resounding home run. Robusto is one of those blends. Now I have had a lot of experience with cigar leaf blends. Billy Budd is the standard by which, in my opinion, all should be judged, being bold, strong, smoky, tasty, yet very balanced. Habana Daydreams is lighter and more refined, less bold but still tasty. Key Largo is a blend which has no equal and is very complex and flavorful. Then you have Robusto. I see posts every once in a while where cigar smokers ask what pipe tobacco would be a good introduction to pipes while still maintaining that cigar flavor profile. I will say here and now Robusto is that blend. This blend, if you had not tinned it and processed it, would taste exactly like someone lit up a nice Maduro and shoved that SOB right into my pipe bowl. What really intrigues me is to whether or not this flavor is achieved through the sheer amount of Maduro cigar leaf in the blend, or if all the components are blended so well that it emulates that flavor. I'm willing to bet this blend was pressed at some point as it comes in a very broken flake, but rubs out very finely and very easily. I will say that the Latakia is used just right, the leather, campfire, and dark chocolate notes complimenting the coffee and earthy bitterness from the cigar leaf. The Virginia holds everything together, making everything sweet when it gets a little strong and bitter, offering a slight fruity note, but taking a backstage to everything else and really letting that cigar flavor shine. Greg says that there is some Oriental leaf to "fill in the gaps" but honestly, I taste so little of it that I think he could have left it out and been just fine. My only critique of this blend is that when smoked in a deeper chamber, the last few pu