Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

irishearl

Lifer
Aug 2, 2016
Kansas
OK, so I've been smoking pipes for in excess of 40 years and am still unclear on what constitutes a freehand shape. I have several pipes which are recognizable as variations of classic shapes, all, of course, with plateau rims. If a plateau rimmed pipe has a shape recognizable as a classic shape is it still a freehand? How much variation from a classic shape does it need to be considered a freehand?

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
The pipe's shape in freehand carving is usually influenced by the grain of the wood.
If a plateau rimmed pipe has a shape recognizable as a classic shape is it still a freehand?
Nope, this is classified as a bent dublin.
002-099-5922.jpg

Jan 8, 2013