PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

billporter

Lurker
Nov 14, 2012
I am fairly new to pipe smoking and have noticed references to "flake pipes" or pipes that are particularly good for smoking flake tobacco. I have gotten the idea that these pipes have chambers that are narrow and pretty deep. Is that what a "flake pipe" is; narrow and deep? I am guessing that if you rub out the flake, it then wouldn't make much difference what shape the chamber is. Please chime in and enlighten me about "flake pipes." Thanks!

tjameson

Lifer
Jun 16, 2012
My best flake smoker far and away is a small dublin, but that being said my largest pipe, a bent billiard, smokes flakes and any VAs very well. I'd say try out flakes in different bowls and see what works well for you.

kcvet67

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 6, 2010
One added note, a conical bowl does need more diligence regarding the cake if you tend to let it be to the point of having to ream it, because the shape of the bowl makes reaming a bit more challenging and easier to screw up.

A Buttner-style reamer makes it a lot easier to maintain conical chambers.

http://www.smokingpipes.com/accessories/pipe-supplies/moreinfo.cfm?product_id=84690

bentmike

Lifer
Jan 25, 2012
A bulldog/rhodesian shape also makes a good flake pipe. I like to cube cut my flakes so really any pipe with chamber dimensions around .75" or less by 1.00- 1.5" deep works well for me.

salewis

Can't Leave
Jan 27, 2011
I have found that for me a group 3 or 4 size pot is the best for smoking Virginia flakes. I like when you have a large area for matches or lighter since it is easier to light your pipe initially and upon relights. Also, it is easier with a pot to lightly top the tobacco and remove the ashes throughout the smoke so that the tobacco can be smoked to the bottom of the bowl.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida