PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jasongone

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 23, 2011
this is a in-progress picture of where i am on my first pipe carving, and altering attempts. the pipe in the front is the first i have shaped from a pre-drilled block. the pipe in the middle was the first i purchased and was once wrapped in leather. i got it for 10 bucks 9 years ago and never smoked it but the few times it took to make me know i liked smoking a pipe if not that one. i decided to rip the leather off rusticate and refinish it as a practice and lead in to the pipe i shaped. the block in the back in a bent i started playing with a little. already i am thinking of a couple of things to do to a few beat up old cheap pipes.

i am still adding more texture and crack details between the smooth and the textured. i kept the walls petty thick so i could get a deeper difference between textures. yes i am a big fan of the nording partial rustification.

pipecarving.jpg

By jasongone at 2011-04-12

jasongone

Mar 23, 2011
just my dremmel and a few different bits. i like the look of the gouger tool i saw on line but just don't have the sack to try it just yet. i am also kind of meticulous and the artist i am wants to get in and have a little more control, but still keep it loose.

and thanks. i am happier with the results thus far than i thought i would be. always struggled with three dimensional art and haven't attempted anything as such since i was quite young.

lyst36

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 28, 2011
I've always wanted to do something like that but I don't have the tools or patience. Sigh :cry:

lonestar

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
Edgewood Texas
Excellent work on the rustication. I'm a fan of some of Nordings partial blasts and partial rustications too.

Takes an artistic eye to get that just right

jasongone

Mar 23, 2011
will definitely post some when finished.

marmal4de - i used the little cutting bits that look like small ball auger bits.