PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaytex1969

Lifer
Jun 6, 2017
Here
I scored some 3 year old GL Pease from a forum deal. It's my first time exploring any of this company's blends. The bar has been set pretty high by the lot of you raving on about them.
If Haddo's Delight is representative of the brand, your praises are well deserved. A VaPer with Green River unflavored black cavendish and white burley added, so harmoniously balanced that even a Luddite such as myself can taste and identify all of the constituents.
I packed the Hilson Vintage Panel De Foggymountain to the brim.
hilson-600x337.jpg

The triple jab of Virginia/cavendish/perique sweetness arrives first, with the characteristic plum tone. After the tongue adjusts to it, some nutty burley notes begin to break through.
Just as you get accustomed to the burley, you find a light white pepper tone has joined the party. This, in turn, helps highlight the lightly citrus nature of the Virginias. Apparently there's a light topping, which Jim identifies as a rum. With the tornado of sweet influences already swirling around, I can't separate out the topping, but I have no reason to doubt it's there.
The review lists it as a ribbon. My bag o' smoke is filled with a rough cut of light and dark brown pieces yielding a tangy, sweet nose. Easy to sniff out, even for me.
haddo-600x337.jpg

About 2/3 through the bowl, the pepper takes command and jacks up the retrohale and the sweeter notes drop back some. Counter-intuitively, the whole affair takes on a slightly creamy sensation while still "peppering" you with, um...pepper..
In my larger and bent Stanwell 185, the sweet cream effect was greater and the pepper lessened. Play around with your furnace selection to find different outcomes. Half way in, sniffing above the burning chamber presents an interesting "burning cedar" note, one I've also noticed in my much enjoyed SPC Potlatch.