PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

music4cash

Might Stick Around
Jan 5, 2016
I've been smoking pipes for about 6 months now, and I've heard a lot about "fine white ash." What I've found is that the best smokes I have do not leave "fine white ash" they leave more of a salt and pepper ash with little bits of dottle...The smokes that leave me with fine white ash are the ones where things were too hot the whole time, and so everything burns completely. Is there something wrong in my technique that stops me from getting fine white ash without smoking too hot, or is the whole idea of "fine white ash" a fallacy?

Many people on here have hair triggers for things they don't totally understand. When a tobacco smokes down to fine white ash, it is usually referring to the lack of PG and casing, and the consistency of the cut of the tobacco. It doesn't necessarily mean that the tobacco was more perfect, as some people on here think Prince Albert and other trash tobaccos are great quality. But, it does attest to just some aspects of the tobacco.
People get their panties in a wad about the phrase, because they think it means that the smoker is making some comment on his skills being good, when really it just means that the tobacco is of a certain quality. My favorite fine white ash tobacco is Penzance. The ash is almost silky to the touch.

moldyoldy

Lurker
May 10, 2016
Long Island
I'm in the same boat as you.....never get that elusive "fine white ash"....more like something out of my fireplace....white ash mixed with little bits of charcoal-like stuff....I usually just take my pipe tool's poker thing & mix it all up in the bowl, then re-light it......not sure if that proper "pipe etiquette" or not, like I said a couple times in other threads, right now my main goal is to just keep the damn thing going more more than 10 minutes.... :D

ericthered

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 29, 2014
Suffolk, VA