PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nbpiper

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 31, 2011
A couple of weeks ago I got a MM Diplomat which came with a filter. Figured I might as well see how smoking with a filter was like and left it in and gave it a shot. Didn't notice anything different from smoking my briars or my unfiltered eaton cob. Tossed the filter before my second smoke and ended up sucking back a whole lot of ash and bits of tobacco. I got a box of medico filters now for it to stop that issue. So my question is, is it possible to smoke a cob like this without a filter? Does the stem piece that protrudes into the bowl eventually burn away and stop this? Or should I be prepared to keep filters on hand for this pipe? Thanks in advance for all the help.

maduroman

Part of the Furniture Now
May 15, 2010
i chunk the filter on all my cobs before i smoke em....
btw, my mm of choice is the diplomat.
it just takes practice on loading the pipe, or you can get a non-filter stem for it.

philip

Lifer
Oct 13, 2011
Puget Sound
I like the filters. They don't hurt the quality of the smoke any. The way I see it, all that moisture and tar that ends up in the filter would have ended up in my mouth. They're inexpensive, so I keep a bunch on hand.
I think I'm one of the few here who likes them.

As always --- experiment.

Jun 26, 2011
Pacific Northwest USA
Same response as maduro and coalsmoke.

I like the wide open draw of a cob w/o the filter, have as yet to draw anything through. Having said that I s'pose I've just set myself up for a 1st time!

juvat270

Aug 1, 2011
Im with some of the others on this. My MM Cob of choice is the Diplomat as well and all paper filters get tossed in the garbage. I havent had the problems you mentioned so far.
I have tried smoking them with the filter left in a couple of times though. I found the draw slightly reduced and the flavor of the smoke seemed a bit "flat." The filters aren't for me.

nbpiper