PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

travelergypsy

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 15, 2016
So, I am very new to this whole pipe smoking business, and would love to see it continue for some time. I keep hearing about the impending FDA regulations, and affects this would have on the tobacco availability. Try as I might, I can't find a comprehensive summary of the impending regulations. Can someone give me a quick, consolidated summary of what is in the workings so I can get caught up to date, and not feel like I just crawled out from under a rock?

edgreen

Lifer
Aug 28, 2013
Try Brian's radio show from two weeks ago or youtube. Both have provided me with a much clearer understanding.

travelergypsy

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 15, 2016
This seems very vague. Very very vague. Am I understanding this right? That much of the fear is about what could happen, rather than the FDA actually taking certain things off the market? Obviously, there is a very really possibility of things going bad, but is anything actually written to that affect? What I found on youtube sounded like the FDA is trying to figure out a way to monitor tobacco production, not necessarily eliminate it.

Also, how does this affect the importation of tobacco produced in Europe or elsewhere overseas? What about Big Tobacco companies (ie: British American Tobacco)?

From what I see, it's all about the money. The thing is though, tobacco still produces a significant amount of revenue for the United States. Thus the FDA may regulate it to an extent, but I find it hard to envision Big Government allowing regulations that might jeopardize a significant financial contributor.
(Sorry, I am really interested in this. And I like to think, even more when I have a bowl of C&D burning under my nose.)

jmatt

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 25, 2014
Here's the simple version: