FDA Deeming Rules: Updates and What Next?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Status
Not open for further replies.

pryhosm

Lurker
Sep 22, 2017
With the implementation of the Deeming rules on hold and a glimmer of hope that the current administration may amend the ruling, what happens now? Some question I have for the experts out there are as follows (I am no expert and I am looking for some answers so if something looks stupid, correct it):

-With the law put off until 2020ish can the industry do any or all of the following:

Continue to put out "holiday blends"? If I were McClelland I would have a Christmas Cheer all the way up until the implementation date even if I would have to cut it after that date

- Can pipe shows continue to sample new products at shows up until the implementation date? I could see some blow out "sunset" parties as we move closer

- Does anyone provide updates on lobbyist activities. The idea of managing pipe tobacco blending with this rule is beyond silly. As a person with a background in health care and pharmaceuticals the idea that different blends of leaf from varietals of Latakia, Cavendish, Turkish, Orientals, Virginia's, Perique, etc. is plain old dumb. I can see if additives or other new chemical entities or engineered tobacco's are added being regulated. But the combination of Latakia, VA and Burley is not something that will have a substantial change on PK/PD in the body.

-I'd like to see a manufacturers advocacy group come together and advance the companies positons and at least for the short term take advantage of the delay. I am sure we have not seen the best from McClelland, Hearth and Home, and others. 2 years can produce great things even if fleeting.