PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

flakyjakey

Lifer
Aug 21, 2013
BACKGROUND;

In a previous post I compared the smoking qualities of 2 Mortas, a clay pipe and a seasoned briar with a single tobacco - SG Balkan Flake. I made this choice because it had been said that Mortas are particularly suited to tobaccos heavy with Latakia and I have been smoking the Balkan for many years.
At that time I found that the 2 Mortas smoked identically; like the acknowledged clay 'neutrality' they added nothing to the smoke but IMO allowed all the flavours of the Balkan to be revealed. In contrast, the briar, despite no obvious 'ghosts', seemed to 'absorb' some nuances of the Balkan taste.
Some forum members asked me whether the same might apply to other tobaccos. Below therefore I have repeated the test with SG BBF, my long-standing favourite Va flake. This time I used only one Morta since I am convinced that both my Mortas smoke identically.
HYPOTHESIS:

The Morta and clay will act neutrally and bring out all the BBF flavours whereas the briar will 'subdue' some of the nuances. The clay will burn my tongue and the Morta will thus become my favourite pipe for smoking BBF.
MATERIALS AND METHODS:

1. A good quantity of SG BBF, fully rubbed out. Because of the 'stickiness' of the BBF I left it on the prep board for an hour so it would pack easily into the narrower-gauged clay.

2. My Chris Asquith long-stemmed Lovat, with its pretty large bowl, smoked >20 times.

3. My James Upshall G-grade straight pot, again with a generous bowl. This pipe has only ever been used to smoke BBF (>30 times) because when I first got it it seemed to suit SG BBF.

4. A new high quality clay pipe - this time one with a 'nubbin' on the bowl bottom to prevent finger burn !! LOL
RESULTS:

These were somewhat as expected, but my conclusions were not.