PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

flakyjakey

Lifer
Aug 21, 2013
This is not a formal tobacco review and there has been so much general commentary, particularly around ‘Stonehaven’, that I thought this topic might best be posted here. Apologies for the delay in reporting these impressions but I had two pages of notes that needed condensing. For clarity, I will again present this comparison in the form of an ‘experimental protocol’.
BACKGROUND: Made in Jersey by J.F.Germain&Son for Esoterica, Stonehaven is not available in the UK and even in the US it seems very difficult to source. As a result it seems to have become a ‘cult’ pipe tobacco. When I tasted the samples sent to me by Pat and Troy I understood why it is so popular. I have been smoking flakes for 12 years, having cut my teeth on FVF, BBF, Irish Slices and Bulwark. IMO Stonehaven is an exquisite flake; the rubbed-out aroma has a rum/brandy/port note but also a ‘chocolatey’ element and a slightly minty component which is reminiscent of the smell of an ‘After Eight’ chocolate mint; on smoking the flavours are very rich and deep, still with the hint of chocolate and mint essence; it burns reliably, with NO tongue bite. I won’t go into the history of Germain’s but suffice it to say that it is an ancient tobacco company in Britain’s Channel Isles which still blends tobacco in the traditional way, as it has for at least the last two centuries. It has a small and ‘rate-limited’ production and as a result their ‘flagship’ blend is snapped up and seems to be ‘hoarded’ by afficionados as soon as each shipment arrives, such that the ‘average’ pipe smoker finds it almost impossible to source, thus amplifying its cult status.