PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnparker

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 22, 2013
I am a complete novice, and have a question on what I am tasting. I have both Frog Morton and Penzance. The first one third to half bowls with each tastes light and pleasingly "sweet"; maybe sweet is a bad term, but I mean comfortable, light and tasty to me. The last two thirds to one half of the bowls tastes sour; not bad sour, but not as pleasant, again to me, as the first part. As an aid to deciding what future pipe tobaccos to get, would anyone care to speculate on what I am tasting in the last part of the smoke? Perhaps latakia? Bare in mind that my only other experience to date has been with a mellow burley. I have not tried any of the Virginia tobaccos. Thanks!

salewis

Can't Leave
Jan 27, 2011
My favorite Latakia blends, actually more Oriental forward blends in order are:
McClelland's 3 Oaks Syrian

McClelland's Blue Mountain

Gawith's Squadron Leader

Dunhill's London Mixture
Any of the above will are truly fine combinations of Oiental, Virginia and Latakia blends.

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012
The flavor of a bowl can change over the course of smoking it, and the nature of the changes can depend on technique. If, like me, you're learning not to puff like a freight train, the excess heat and steam can alter the flavor, and not always for the better (some people have mentioned a certain bitterness toward the end of a bowl for this reason). If I remember correctly, there's at least one person in here who only smokes the first 1/2 to 2/3 of a bowl, and then discards the rest due to the changes in the flavor profile, which he (?) can't stand.