PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluegrassbrian

Your Mom's Favorite Pipe Smoker
Aug 27, 2016
Louisville
I have zero experience with inner tubes. Far as I can tell from pictures and inference, they should be removable by pulling straight out and with little resistance.
That said, I just got a '63 Tanshell in pretty nice shape BUT it was HEAVILY smoked. So now the inner tube is stuck in the stummel (not the stem).

Anyone else had this problem? What did you do to get that damned thing out?
I havent had a lot of time to play with it yet but ive tried hot hot water running through it and letting Everclear sit in the bowl. Ive also dug out a good amount of cake that was surrounding the draft hole, but I dont want to dig too hard because its hard to tell where the wood begins.
Any fancy tricks, or should I just keep going with the solvents?

ron123

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 28, 2015
Park Ridge, IL
This works with stuck stems, so it could work with the stuck inner tube - put it in the freezer for about 1/2 hour, then take out and as the frost melts it will act as lube, and should release...

bluegrassbrian

Aug 27, 2016
Louisville
I put it in the freezer for about 45 minutes.. no dice.
Its practically cemented in by the tars of a tobacco of a bygone era.

dmcmtk

Lifer
Aug 23, 2013
Iso in the mortise with the shank vertical for a few hours, and keep topping it up. No guarantees...

I'd think if you see the alcohol in the tobacco chamber, it's a good sign.

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com