PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

lazar

Can't Leave
May 5, 2015
I'm so confused about all the Dunhill blends, especially the ones that have similar mixtures of tobacco types. How many English blends can one brand make? And what's a Scottish blend, anyway?
I'm looking to try one or two, but they all have such good reviews it's hard to decide. I'm new to all this and not even sure what I like yet, so it's hard to give guidance. I will say I'm not a big fan of aromatics so far, and that I'm normally a cigar smoker. Here's my short list:
Aperitif

Early Morning

Nightcap

London Mixture

Mixture 965

mcitinner1

Lifer
Apr 5, 2014
Missouri
C&D calls it's Bayou Night a Scottish blend. It's description reads 'a blend of Latakia, Perique, Virginias, Turkish, and Burleys that boasts a heavier Perique component than normally found in a classic Scottish blend.
On descriptions, I always go to Pipes&Cigars for their's.

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
My only personal experience with Dunhill blends is Nightcap. I've tried several Latakia English blends and Dunhill Nightcap always read to be 'the standard', so I went for it.

Many here swear by EMP.

Of those you've listed, the one least mentioned in my recollection is Aperitif, but anything with the Dunhill name on it is likely to pass muster.

It IS pretty amazing how many lat blends there are containing VA, Orientals, and or Burley and still taste identifiably different. Inevitably, some will seem close to others in taste and tin note.

Balkan Sasieni is another smooth lat blend and recently I've tried Russ Oulette's Hearth and Home Magnum Opus, and if you enjoy this genre, you should get some. It's right there with any Lat blend I've tried...

If you have never tried a Latakia blend, you're in for a treat.

Don't be put off by the initial tin note. You will learn to appreciate the typical smokey, peaty, robust and hugely pungent aromas these blends emanate.