PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bentmike

Lifer
Jan 25, 2012

I've never done a restoration on an estate before and after looking at numerous threads on the forum displaying all the good work done by amateurs and pros alike I couldn't help but try my hand at bringing a well used pipe back to life. This is the 3109 Chestnut Canadian that I scored at the NASPC show in Columbus. I thought it would be the perfect candidate.

Here's the after shots. Not to bad for my first try I think. The pipe surely could be enjoyed the way it was with the blackened and crushed rim but now I think it looks much better. The pipe had been properly reamed with just a thin cake remaining and with no wood exposed. So that just left me to give the shank a quick once over with some 151 on a bristle cleaner and I let it dry before completing the staining and wax buffing.

I've not smoked the pipe yet but the size 3 Canadian is my favorite shape right now and knowing my other Canadian Dunnies I expect this one to not let me down. Now I get it. I used to wonder why guys put all that effort into cleaning up old pipes. It's cool to clear away the layers of grime and fix the battle scars as well as possible and then catch a glimpse of the pipe as it might have looked in its younger days.

petes03

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
The Hills of Tennessee
Great work, especially on the rim! The Canadian and Lumberman shapes are really growing on me. I don't own one yet, but I do have my eye on a Savenelli in the Roma Lucite series! Straight pipes in general are growing on me. After my first year of smoking, my collection consisted of 12 pipes, 10 bents and 2 straights. Fast forward a few years, now my collection is 30+ strong, with about 50/50 ratio of bents to straights! As a matter of fact, I have a straight billiard Stanwell Zibrano w/ oval shank and saddle bit, in layaway right now! Anyway, congrats on the pipe and the resto job!

bentmike

Lifer
Jan 25, 2012