PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

riverchaopraya

Might Stick Around
Jan 1, 2011
I have a burning question that has been on my mind for a while. As a new pipe smoker, I thought I'd ask for opinions of the experienced smokers. Do so-called "high-end" pipes really smoke better than ordinary pipes and "low-end" pipes? Or it is just for cosmetic reasons (flawless briar) and the additional material (silver,gold, etc) that make a pipe expensive. Although I completely believe in collective wisdom of the pipe-smoking community (any knowledge that's the result of trial and error of many people will tend to be reliable), for example, well-reputed tobacco blends tend to be of good quality, whether or not one particularly likes the style or taste. (Some English-blend smokers might think some aromatics are good aromatics). But with pipes, does it work the same way? I am new to pipe smoking, and my taste is yet to be refined, but I don't find any significant smoking quality in more expensive pipes, and the less expensive ones. I have Savinelli's Capri-Corallo, which was supposed to smoke cool and great. But (and this is just between you and me) I don't find that it smokes that much better than my less expensive pipes (current favorite is Aran-68, which whistles, but otherwise smokes great). So, guys, is it my lack of experience that makes me unable to tell the subtle differences, or is there no significant differences?? What's your opinion?

bubbadreier

Lifer
Jul 30, 2010
Norman, Oklahoma
My take on it is this... No one knows!!
I for one am in the mind set that my "cheaper" pipes smoke great, so I don't want to smoke a super high grade and find out my pipes suck :lol: I am happy with what I have! Now if I had the means I would be buying up as many american made high grades I could, not because they are better smokers but because I want to support the few great pipe makers we have left!!

expatpipe

Can't Leave
Dec 31, 2010